Texas School Safety Certification Program
($850) Fee is based on 6 attendees from the DFW area
This Texas DPS Program designed to train and evaluate educators to carry defensive handguns on school campus. The Texas D.P.S. has approved training for school districts and teachers. We take it to the next level of training based on your districts needs
As required by the Texas Department of Public Safety we will cover;
Upon successful completion of the course, the participant will receive a Texas D.P.S. Proof of Training Form. Completed courses will be then filed with Texas Department of Public Safety as a part of their License to Carry in accordance with Texas Government Code 411.1901.
This level of training is unsurpassed in Texas. Not only does it give the school dristricts a liability shield against claims, but it gives the School administration staff a better understanding of how to prevent additional loss of life in the event of an Active Shooter
Day 1 (8 hours)
Day 2 (8 hours)
Texas Government code 411.1901
(a)â€‚The department shall establish a process to enable qualified handgun instructors certified under Section 411.190 to obtain an additional certification in school safety. â€‚The process must include a school safety certification course that provides training in the following:
(1)â€‚the protection of students;
(2)â€‚interaction of license holders with first responders;
(3)â€‚tactics for denying an intruder entry into a classroom or school facility; and
(4)â€‚methods for increasing a license holder's accuracy with a handgun while under duress.
(b)â€‚The school safety certification course under Subsection (a) must include not less than 15 hours and not more than 20 hours of instruction.
Â (c)â€‚A qualified handgun instructor certified in school safety under this section may provide school safety training, including instruction in the subjects listed under Subsection (a), to employees of a school district or an open-enrollment charter school who hold a license to carry a concealed handgun issued under this subchapter.
Â (c)â€‚A qualified handgun instructor certified in school safety under this section may provide school safety training, including instruction in the subjects listed under Subsection (a), to employees of a school district or an open-enrollment charter school who hold a license to carry a handgun issued under this subchapter.
(d)â€‚The department shall establish a fee in an amount that is sufficient to cover the costs of the school safety certification under this section.
(e)â€‚The department may adopt rules to administer this section.